Chaughadia Muhurats—-

In Vedic Astrology, Chaughadia Muhurtas are a quick and effective method to find out the intraday auspicious times to start a new venture / project or begin an important / auspicious work. These muhurtas are extensively used in Guajrat and other western states of India. In this method, .4 hours of a day are divided into .6 time segments of approximately one and a half hours each (i.e., approx. ..75 Ghati). Each of these time segments is called a Chaughadia due to its approximate duration of 3.75 Ghati. These Chawghariya / chaughadias are of 7 types and are either good or bad or medium (neutral) in nature.

To begin any good work, only “Good” Chaughadias are selected. It is believed that that if a work is started in “Good” Chaughadia and other Muhurta determining factors (such as Tithi, Nakshatra, Yoga etc.) are also favourable, success is almost assured in one’s efforts.

                 Method to Calculate Chaughadia Muhurats—-
First each day is divided into two time periods:

1. day time (Din-maan) – the period from local sunrise to sunset
2. night-time (Ratri-maan) – the period from sunset to sunrise (next day)

Each time period contains eight Chaughadias. To calculate the duration of each Chaughadia, the respective time period is divided by eight to get 8 chaughadias of equal time. Since there are only 7 types of chaughadias, therefore, in each time period six Chaughadias get 1 division each in their share while one Chaughadia gets 2 divisions.

The Chaughadias are assigned to 8 equal divisions of each time period (day time or night time)  in a pre-determined order according to the weekday. The sequence of day-time and night-time Chaughadias varies for each week day. However, the sequence is fixed and does not change for each week day. For example, the sequence for Monday is different to that for Tuesday, which in turn is different to that for Wednesday. But the sequence for each Monday is the same, as also  for each Tuesday.  [Study the Tables Below]—
Clearly, the 16 time divisions of 24 hours are assigned to 7 types of Chaughadias. There will be at least two Chaughadias of the same type within 24 hrs. and two types of  Chaughadias are repeated three times within 24 hrs.
The seven types of Chaughadias are as follows:—
        Chaughadia       Ruled by               Nature

        1. Udwega        ruled by Sun           Bad
        2. Amrit            ruled by Moon        Good
        3. Roga            ruled by Mars         Bad
        4. Laabh           ruled by Mercury    Good
        5. Shubh          ruled by Jupiter       Good
        6. Chara           ruled by Venus       Medium
        7. Kaala           ruled by Saturn       Bad
Please note that all important works / projects etc. should be commenced during favorable chaughadias.

Amrit, Shubh and Laabh are favourable Chaughadias.
Chara is an intermediate or neutral Chaughadia.
Udwega,Roga and Kaala are unfavourable Chaughadias.
Chara is generally good for travelling.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

error: Content is protected !!